Wolverine Digital Watercolor + Pixel art

wolverine-poraitwolverine-paper

So yeah, digital watercoloring… kinda. I originally sketched this traditionally with a mechanical pencil, then inked it a few days later. I let it lie around for a while and decided to re-sketch the drawing digitally. That sat for a few days as well, as I was really stuck on what to do with the piece.

Recently I’ve been approaching digital art, especially since I’m using Sketchbook Pro, as a kind of traditional art simulator, adding textures, using weird brushes, stuff like that. So I was messing around with some brushes from the weekly Sketchbook Pro blog and noticed that one of the oil painting brushes seemed kind of watery.

It took me an hour to paint the final image. I think there are probably better brushes that I could have used, but in some areas it actually looks pretty nice and watercolory. If I was to go back and fix some stuff, I would desaturate and lighten some of the colors, and also sponge the middle areas to get those dark edges like watercolor in real life. I’ll keep experimenting. I really like the concept of a digital watercolor brush.

Here’s a pixel drawing I did of the portrait, which I almost animated:wolverine-portrait

I did record the process of coloring the wolverine portrait, but I want to make a few more videos before I restart my Youtube channel, which, by the way, I might try to upload some tutorials on.

Make sure to share this post on social media, hit the like button if you liked this post, and follow if you want to see more.

Thanks,

Josh M (jumpingmonkeyart@gmail.com)

Hire me here: https://www.upwork.com/freelancers/~01a7233fbd48468c25

 

please comment here and tell me what you think